020 8884 3339

Foreign & Commonwealth Office, Whitehall


Foreign & Commonwealth Office, Whitehall

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office occupies a building which originally provided premises for four separate government departments: the Foreign Office, the India Office, the Colonial Office, and the Home Office. Construction on the building began in 1861 and finished in 1868, and it was designed by the architect George Gilbert Scott.[17] Its architecture is in the Italianate style; Scott had initially envisaged a Gothic design, but Lord Palmerston, then Prime Minister, insisted on a classical style.[17] English sculptors Henry Hugh Armstead and John Birnie Philip produced a number of allegorical figures ('Art', 'Law', 'Commerce', etc.) for the exterior.

Fourways Plant Ltd was contracted to scaffold the main building in order for façade renovations works to be conducted. This also included access towers, full Monarflex coverage, hoarding and hoist installation.